Chris Knox Tribute LP Out Digitally


Now available as a
download from Merge, with physical CD coming in February. Open up those
wallets, people – this is one that’s important.


By Blurt Staff


If you’ve picked up the latest issue of BLURT you’ve seen
our tribute to New Zealand legend Chris Knox, he of the mighty Tall Dwarfs, in
which members of the Bats, the Clean and others offer their anecdotes and
observations on Knox, felled earlier this year by a stroke. It’s also got
commentary provided by Knox himself to writer Jud Cost, who interviewed the man
a few years ago. Cost also disclosed some of the details behind the forthcoming
Knox tribute album, titled Stroke – Songs
For Chris Knox
that came out last month in New Zealand and arrives Stateside
in February via the Merge label.


Merge, in fact, is already offering the album in download
form at their website, where you can also pre-order it.


Fans can cheer the news, posted recently at Knox’s blog, of
his gradual-but-steady recovery along with a tracklisting for the 2-CD album,
which is stuffed to the gills with a who’s who of NZ and American indie rockers
ranging from the Verlaines, the Chills and David Kilgour to Portastatic, Jay Reatard
and Yo La Tengo. Full tracklisting is below.


And if the tracklisting don’t sway ya – at Knox’s official
blog you can hear samples of most of the songs currently streaming. Go here and
prepare to have the socks charmed off ya. (There’s also a link you can use to
order it from NZ in case you can’t wait until Feb.) This is a tribute with meat
on its bones, and it’s for a good cause too, kids. Stroke, like the Sweet Relief (Victoria Williams) and Inner Flame (Rainer
Ptacek) tributes before it, represents the music community rallying together
for one of their own.






CD1 (Yellow Disc):

01 Jay Reatard: “Pull Down the Shades”
02 The Checks: “Rebel”
03 The Bleeding Allstars: “Ain’t It Nice”
04 Peter Gutteridge: “Don’t Catch Fire”
05 The Chills: “Luck or Loveliness”
06 David Kilgour: “Nothing’s
Going to Happen”
07 The Crying Wolfs: “All My Hollowness to You”
08 Stephin Merritt: “Beauty”
09 Portastatic: “Nostalgia’s No Excuse”
10 The Mint Chicks: “Crush”
11 Jay & Sam Clarkson: “I’ve Left Memories
12 Sky Green Leopards: “Burning Blue”
13 Shayne Carter: “The Slide”
14 Pumice: “Grand Mal”
15 Hamish Kilgour: “Knoxed
Out” *

CD2 (Black Disc):

01 Boh Runga: “Not
Given Lightly”
02 Red&Zeke ft. Bill Doss and Neil Cleary:
03 Bill Callahan: “Lapse”
04 Genghis Smith: “Growth Spurt”
05 Yo La Tengo: “Coloured”
06 A.C. Newman: “Dunno Much About Life But I Know How to Breathe”
07 Alec Bathgate: “Glide”
08 Don McGlashan: “Inside Story
10 Lambchop: “What Goes Up”
11 The Mountain Goats: “Brave”
12 The Tokey Tones (and Friends): “Round These
13 The Bats: “Just Do It”
14 Will Oldham: “My Only Friend”
15 The Finn Family: “It’s Love”
16 Jordan Luck: “Becoming Something Other”
17 The Verlaines: “Driftwood”
18 Lou Barlow: “Song of the Tall Poppy”
19 The Nothing: “Napping in Lapland” *
20 Tall Dwarfs: “Sunday Song” *

* bonus tracks






Leave a Reply