Video: Yorke Debuts New Songs in LA


Premieres “Open
the Floodgates”, “Lotus Flower”, “Skirting on the
Surface” and “Judge, Jury, Executioner” Friday evening at the
Echoplex club.


By Blurt Staff


Hitting the web over the weekend was footage of Thom Yorke
and his ad hoc new “band” – Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, Radiohead
producer Nigel Godrich, drummer Joey Waronker, and multi-instrumentalist Mauro
Refosco (Forro in the Dark) – performing at Los Angeles’ Echoplex club as a
warmup date for the Sunday and Monday night concerts at the Orpheum.


According to Pitchfork, Yorke & Co. did his solo album The
from start to finish, then for an encore Yorke came out by himself
to do three brand new songs: “Open the Floodgates” (on piano),
“Lotus Flower” (guitar), “Skirting on the Surface” (piano). For
a second encore the band came out to join Yorke on another unreleased track,
“Judge, Jury, Executioner”; noted that “the latter is also
the alternate title of Radiohead’s ‘Myxomatosis’ (from Hail To The Thief), but several people have confirmed it’s a
completely new song.” Three more songs were then done: Radiohead’s
“Paperbag Writer” plus “The Hollow Earth” and “Feeling
Pulled Apart by Horses,” both of which comprise the new 12″ single.


Videos of the new songs are below – “Open the
Floodgates”, “Lotus Flower”, “Skirting on the
Surface,” “Judge, Jury, Executioner”.



Leave a Reply