Thao/Get Down Stay Down Return In Oct.

And no, “The Clap” is not a cover of Yes…
unless Steve Howe is guesting in disguise.


By Blurt Staff


Thao With the Get
Down Stay Down will be releasing their second full-length album, Know Better Learn Faster, on October 13 via Kill Rock Stars. “The
album is named ‘Know Better Learn Faster’ because you can’t,” said Thao, in a
statement. “By the time you realize you should, it’s too late. And I enjoy the
predicament and the totally devastating, unfunny humor of that.”



Thao and the Get Down Stay Down (Adam Thompson on
bass, keys and additional guitar, and Willis Thompson on drums and percussion)
return with the follow up to their critically lauded previous album, We
Brave Bee Stings and All
. With
super-producer and friend Tucker
Martine (The Decemberists, Bill Frisell, Jim James) again at the helm, Know Better Learn Faster matches
the “cleverly crafted and emotionally evocative songs” with “vibrant,
innovative instrumentation, incredible energy and a still-acutely-solid sense
of what sounds good… all the while staying faithful to their distinct style,
sharp wit, and the infectious and enamoring exuberance of their renowned live



Know Better Learn
is also being described as in many ways “a boisterous,
frenzied, and resigned break-up record,” and with that territory comes a few
songs wherein Thao does not employ her trademark method of juxtaposing brighter melodies with melancholic
content.  “A few of these are just
straightforwardly sad.  Sometimes there’s
not much room to mince words and music when you feel like shit,” she says. The
album is, in essence, an audit of the end of one or any number of
relationships.  Thao says: “We are thankful for the opportunity to have explored
and then purged all crippling tensions and anxiety inherent in such dramas and
hope you enjoy the scrappy by-product.




Guesting on the album are Andrew Bird, Eric Earley of Blitzen Trapper, Laura Veirs,  Nathan Crockett of Horse Feathers, and close
friend and new 4AD artist Tune-Yards.



Track Listing:

01. The Clap
02. Cool Yourself
03. When We Swam
04. Know Better Learn Faster
05. Body
06. The Give
07. Good Bye Good Luck
08. Trouble Was For
09. Oh. No.
10.Fixed It!
11. Burn You Up
12. But What of the Strangers
13. Easy


Photo Credit: Shervin Lainez





Leave a Reply