Slits Return w/New LP!



First full-length in
25 years from the dub-punk legends.


By Blurt Staff


Narnack Records will be releasing Trapped Animal, the first full-length release from The Slits in over 25 years. (2009 also
marks the 30th anniversary of The Slits debut album Cut.) It’s due on October 6.


The Slits
became a part of the punk pantheon with songs that even today continue to be
meditations on alienation and angst. With Trapped Animal , The
Slits remain the same genre bending band they were in their inception,
still standing out from the rest of the pack. In the title track they examine
how the conveniences that surround us in today’s modern world have also trapped
us. Other tracks include “Pay Rent” which focuses on the everyday struggle artists
face trying to pay the bills through their art along with the sexually charged
“Lazy Slam”. “Ask Ma” will be out as a single in August and will be your first
taste of Trapped Animal 


The current lineup features original members Ari Up and
Tessa Pollitt along with Hollie Cook (daughter of Sex Pistols drummer Paul
Cook), Anna Schlute and Adele Wilson.


 In addition to the new album, a book about
the band, Typical Girls? The Story
Of The Slits
written by Zoe Street Howe, is scheduled to be
published in the Fall. Meanwhile go HERE for the band’s backstory.



Track Listing


1. Ask Ma
2. Lazy Slam
3. Pay Rent
4. Reject
5. Trapped Animals
6. Issues
7. Peer Pressure
8. Partner From Hell
9. Babylon
10. Cry Baby
11. Reggae Gypsy
12. Be It
13. Cant Relate
14. Had A Day





Leave a Reply