Richard Hawley Gets Down in the Gutter


Preps new album for a
September release.


By Fred Mills


Richard Hawley‘s sixth studio album, “Truelove’s Gutter,” is set
to be released on Mute on September 22nd. It was recorded in
Hawley’s hometown of Sheffield at Yellow Arch

According to Hawley, it is, thematically, his darkest work to date, exploring the
idea of people or things that are broken in some way, and the fractured and
damaged times in which we live. Arrangements on the album occasionally feature uncommon
instrumentation, such as the megabass waterphone and crystal baschet. “I use a
load of odd sounds on this album that are not heard on many other records,”
says Hawley. “The sounds in my head on a lot of the tracks – I didn’t even know
what they were called!”

Eccentric instruments notwithstanding, the lush but minimal production provides
a haunting backdrop to Hawley’s unique voice and allows him plenty of space for
some outstandingly beautiful guitar solos. “I wanted it to be a listening
experience from start to finish, where you couldn’t just pause it and go off
and watch Coronation Street or whatever,” explains Hawley. “Sonically, it
flows. It’s not jumping all over the place. It just has a mood that goes
through the whole thing.”

Track Listing:

1.    As The Dawn Breaks
2.    Open Up The Door
3.    Ashes on The Fire
4.    Remorse Code
5.    Don’t Get Hung Up in your Soul
6.    Soldier On
7.    For Your Lover, Give Some Time
8.    Don’t You Cry





Leave a Reply