1st Two Feelies Albums Expanded/Reissued

Hugely influential
albums get the deluxe treatment courtesy Bar/None. Bonus material will be
digital only, however. Sigh…


By Blurt Staff


Records has plans re-release two classic albums by the Feelies, that critically
acclaimed crew of hyperactive alt rockers from Haledon, New Jersey that had
such a  powerful influence on the sound of indie music 1980s and beyond.

debut release, 1980’s Crazy Rhythms, is a masterwork of perfectly honed minimalist rock that leaps and darts into
the corners of the listener’s consciousness, a true sonic tour de force that Rolling Stone deemed one of the
“100 Best Albums of the 1980s.”  Fans of the Velvet Underground,
Wire and Brian Eno’s early solo work will surely appreciate the “forces at
work” (to quote a song title!) on this masterpiece.


follow-up recording, The Good Earth,
came some six years later, co-produced by Feelies’ co-regents Glenn Mercer and
Bill Million with REM’s Peter Buck (a Feelies admirer since his days as a
record store clerk). The Good Earth was an early release on Coyote Records, the label founded and run Steve Fallon,
also the original owner of famed Hoboken indie roc mecca, Maxwell’s. This album
introduced the line-up that continues to this day.


albums feature deluxe packaging (CD and vinyl LP) with liner notes by Jim
Deragotis and Jim Sullivan respectively. As the band consider each album to be
a discrete aesthetic artifact, the copious bonus material including demos,
b-sides, EP tracks and some new live recordings from the re-united group will
be included on digital download cards.


Crazy Rhythms   and The Good Earth will be released to
coincide with the Feelies’  September performance at the All Tomorrow’s
Parties festival where they will perform the classic Crazy Rhythms  in its entirety.


activities for the group include an acoustic performance at the Whitney Museum
in New York City on June 26 as part of the Dan Graham Retrospective, as well as
a free show at the Pritzke Pavillion in Chicago’s Millennium Park on June 29,
and a series of shows at Maxwells in Hoboken over the 4th of July


 Crazy Rhythms:

01 The Boy With the Perpetual Nervousness
02 Fa cé-La
03 Loveless Love
04 Forces at Work
05 Original Love
06 Everybody’s Got Something to Hide (Except Me and My Monkey)
07 Moscow Nights
08 Raised Eyebrows
09 Crazy Rhythms

Crazy Rhythms bonus tracks:

01 Fa cé-La (single version)
02 The Boy With the Perpetual Nervousness (Carla Bley demo version)
03 Moscow Nights (Carla Bley demo version)
04 Crazy Rhythms (live)
05 I Wanna Sleep in Your Arms (live) (Modern Lovers cover)

The Good Earth:

01 On the Roof
02 The High Road
03 The Last Roundup
04 Slipping (Into Something)
05 When Company Comes
06 Let’s Go
07 Two Rooms
08 The Good Earth
09 Tomorrow Today
10 Slow Down

The Good Earth bonus tracks:

01 She Said, She Said (Beatles cover)
02 Sedan Delivery (Neil Young cover)
03 Slipping (Into Something) (live)


Leave a Reply