Austin City Limits’ 35th Season Coming!


Performers include Dave
Matthews, Sonic Youth, Pearl Jam, Beastie Boys, Wille Nelson, M. Ward, St.
Vincent, Okkervil


By Blurt Staff



Tired of TV reruns? ‘fraid it’s almost summertime, kids. But
never fear, we have something you can look forward to: the next season of Austin City Limits, which kicks off
October 3 on PBS. This will mark the venerable series’ 35th anniversary.


En route: performances by Dave Matthews, reigning CMA
Entertainer of the Year Kenny Chesney, iconic and influential bands Pearl Jam,
Beastie Boys and Sonic Youth, renowned singer and songwriter Elvis Costello,
rocker Ben Harper and Relentless7, and a very special joint performance by
Willie Nelson & Asleep at the Wheel. (Nelson appeared on the original pilot
episode, recorded in October 1974, and Asleep at the Wheel appeared on the
first episode of the first official season in 1976.)


Others slated to appear are M Ward, Andrew Bird, Madeleine
Peyroux, St. Vincent, Heartless Bastards, Okkervil River
and Band of Heathens. Broadcast dates will be announced soon.


“We had high hopes for our 35th anniversary, but never
expected to pull together a season like this” said ACL producer Terry Lickona,
in a statement. “We’ve scored major coups with some of the biggestnames in rock
and some of the best touring bands in the world. And we’re excited to continue
toshowcase the best new and emerging sounds wherever they come from, including
some of the hottest bands making waves in Austin
and beyond. After three and a half decades it seems likeeverybody still wants
to stand on that stage and be a part of ACL history.”


History indeed – ACL is without a doubt one of America’s most
important music shows ever.





Leave a Reply