2009 IMA Judges: She & Him, B.Keys, more

She & Him, The
Black Keys, Mark Hoppus, Aimee Mann and Bettye LaVette
Join Judging Panel For The 9th Annual Independent Music Awards


By Blurt Staff



The Independent Music
Awards (IMAs) announced yesterday the first group of artists and industry
veterans who will determine the winners of the 9th annual IMAs, currently
accepting submissions. This year additional categories in the competition
include Love Song, Story Song, Eclectic Album and Concept Album.


The list includes: Aimee Mann, Shelby Lynne, Paul Miller aka DJ Spooky, Bettye LaVette, Jonatha Brooke, Suzanne Vega, Judy Collins, Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward (She & Him), Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney (The Black Keys); the brothers Zac, Isaac and Taylor Hanson of Hanson; the members of Apples In Stereo (and 7th IMA Pop/Rock-Song Winners) Eric Allen, Bill Doss, John Dufilho and John Ferguson; Mark Hoppus (Blink 182), Dennis Diken (The Smithereens), Butch Walker and Brian “Head” Welch (Korn).


According o the IMA,
the program “supports artists who broaden the definition of commercial success
and represent the diversity of the global Indie scene. The program honors
artists with previous major label releases as well as artists signed to indie
labels and those with self-released titles.”

Past winners and nominees include: Koko Taylor, Martin Sexton, Jamie Lidell, The Apples
In Stereo, Lacuna Coil, God Forbid, Sweet Honey In The Rock, Jeff Healey,
Dengue Fever, Joan As Police Woman, Twilight Hotel, Speech, Mary Gauthier, Jennifer
Nettles, Girl In A Coma, Marco Benevento, Tannis Slimmon and Dan Zanes.


Details at the IMA website – deadline for submissions is
August 21.





Leave a Reply