Strange Boys Hit the Road, Get Strange

 

BLURT-approved band
from Austin is
the bees knees, Steve.

 

By Fred Mills

 

 

Let’s be blunt about this: Austin’s Strange Boys fucking rock. They will
knock your dick in the dirt (ladies, insert appropriate gender change) with
their crazy-ass blend of ‘60s drone-twang, art-rock choogle and old weird Americana – think Hank
Williams fronting the 13th Floor Elevators, or maybe Lou Reed doing
country covers with Television as his backing band. Or don’t think at all.

 

We saw the band at SXSW last month and they were seriously
frammin’ on the jim-jam, and we are STILL diggin’ their recent album The Strange Boys… and Girls Club, a
review of which you can read HERE.

 

Check out an MP3:

 

Now comes word of a pretty big tour the band has just
embarked upon, with a number of shows featuring Atlanta’s Coathangers (who also made a big
SXSW splash), Mika Miko and the Death Set.  They’re in Memphis tonight and then will be zig-zagging
all over the place in one of the more strangely plotted tour itineraries we’ve
seen listed since that upcoming Captain Beefheart tour was announced. Don’t
miss ‘em. You have been informed.

 

 

Tour Dates:

04.03.09 Fri Memphis, TN Murphy’s
04.04.09 Sat Oxford, MS The Blind Pig
04.05.09 Sun Athens, GA Farm 255
04.06.09 Mon Atlanta, GA The Earl
04.08.09 Wed Asheville, NC The New French Bar
04.09.09 Thu Tuscaloosa, AL Little Willie’s
04.10.09 Fri Baton Rouge, LA The Spanish Moon
04.11.09 Sat Houston, TX House Show
06.05.09 Fri Denton, TX Rubbergloves *
06.06.09 Sat Austin, TX Red 7 *
06.07.09 Sun Houston, TX Mangos *
06.08.09 Mon New Orleans, LA Saturn Bar *
06.09.09 Tue Atlanta, GA Drunken Unicorn *#
06.10.09 Wed Greensboro, NC UNCG / Square One *
06.11.09 Thu Washington, DC Comet Pizza and Ping Pong *
06.12.09 Fri Baltimore, MD Sonar *#$
06.13.09 Sat Brooklyn, NY Market Hotel *#
06.14.09 Sun New York, NY Cake Shop *
06.15.09 Mon Philadelphia, PA Danger Danger Gallery *
06.16.09 Tue Worcester, MA Ralph’s Diner *
06.18.09 Thu Cleveland, OH Now That’s Class
06.20.09 Sat Columbus, Ohio Bourbon St *
06.22.09 Mon Chicago, IL Beat Kitchen *
06.23.09 Tue Minneapolis, MN First-Avenue *
06.24.09 Wed Iowa City, IA Public Space 1 *
06.25.09 Thu Lawrence, KS Jackpot Music Hall *
06.26.09 Fri Denver, CO Hi-Dive *
06.27.09 Sat Salt Lake City, UT Kilby Court *
06.29.09 Mon Los Angeles, CA The Smell *
07.02.09 Thu San Francisco, CA Hemlock #
07.03.09 Fri San Jose, CA Nickel City #
07.06.09 Mon San Diego, CA Casbah #
07.07.09 Tue Tucson, AZ Plush #
07.09.09 Thu Lubbock, TX Ash Riprock’s #
07.10.09 Fri Dallas, TX TBA #
07.11.09 Sat Austin, TX Mohawk #

* = w/ Mika Miko
# = w/ The Coathangers
$ = w/ The Death Set

 

Hey, how about a video:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply