Son Volt Inks w/Rounder for “Dust”


Said to be a return to
Farrar’s rootsier side…


By Blurt Staff


Son Volt returns with ‘American
Central Dust
,’ out July 7 on Rounder Records, a plaintive 12-song
collection that the label describes as recalling “the melodic succinctness of
the band’s debut album ‘Trace.'” It’s
the followup to 2007’s The Search and
the band’s first album for Rounder, whicd further advises that “fiddle, pedal
steel, lap steel and sparkling piano add an atmospheric nuance to Son Volt’s
Americana inspired rock, surrounding band leader Jay Farrar’s stream of
consciousness lyrical imagery.”

Album highlights include: the rootsy shuffle of album opener
“Dynamite,” on which Farrar declares “this love is like
celebrating the 4th of July with dynamite,” the tremolo soaked rocker
“Down To The Wire,” the gorgeous, piano led “Cocaine And
Ashes,” an empathetic tribute to Keith Richards, references a man who’s
“the same as everyone, just kind of lucky,” and ‘Sweetheart of the
Rodeo’-esque rocker “No Turning Back.”

When asked about signing to the new label, Farrar said in a statement,
“Rounder has shown a long term commitment to music forms, like folk and
blues, that I have a lot of respect for. Going with Rounder has been a kind of
a full circle continuum — the first Rounder person I met with was instrumental
in booking Uncle Tupelo gigs years ago.”

The band: Jay Farrar (guitar, harmonica, vocals), Dave Bryson (drums), Andrew
Duplantis (bass guitar, backing vocals), Chris Masterson (lead guitar), Mark
Spencer (keyboards, steel guitar). Son Volt’s national tour begins in July.

‘American Central Dust’ tracklist:

1. Dynamite
2. Down To The Wire
3. Roll On
4. Cocaine And Ashes
5. Dust Of Daylight
6. When The Wheels Don’t Move
7. No Turning Back
8. Pushed Too Far
9. Exiles
10. Sultana


Leave a Reply