New Springsteen LP Date, Tracklist



But how the heck do we
get those two bonus tracks, Boss?


By Blurt Staff



“Towards the end of
recording ‘Magic,’ excited by the
return to pop production sounds, I continued writing. When my friend producer
Brendan O’Brien heard the new songs, he said, ‘Let’s keep going.’ Over the
course of the next year, that’s just what we did, recording with the E Street
Band during the breaks on last year’s tour. I hope ‘Working on a Dream’ has caught the energy of the band fresh off
the road from some of the most exciting shows we’ve ever done. All the songs
were written quickly, we usually used one of our first few takes, and we all
had a blast making this one from beginning to end.”



That’s Bruce Springsteen
talking, of course, in a statement released this morning to announce the Jan.
27 release of his next album, Working on
a Dream
. Recorded with Magic producer
Brendan O’Brien in Atlanta (additional recording
in NYC, LA and New Jersey),
it features 12 cuts (see track list below) plus a pair of bonus tracks, “The
Wrestler” and “A Night with the Jersey Devil.”



The official press release
was unclear as to whether those two extras will be included on the CD or will
be targeted as iTunes exclusives, etc. However, sharp-eyed fans already know
the sources of both tracks: “The Wrestler” is a track the Boss penned for the
new Darren Aronofsky film
of the same name starring Mickey Rourke, while
“Jersey Devil” is the special Halloween goodie Springsteen handed out a couple
of weeks ago
as a video and free MP3.



Oh, and the title track? That’s the tune Bruce was playing
at Obama rallies leading up to the election. See a YouTube clip of him doing
the song, below.



Track Listing:


1. Outlaw Pete
2. My Lucky Day
3. Working on a Dream
4. Queen of the Supermarket
5. What Love Can Do
6. This Life
7. Good Eye
8. Tomorrow Never Knows
9. Life Itself
10. Kingdom of Days
11. Surprise, Surprise
12. The Last Carnival

Bonus tracks:

The Wrestler
A Night with the Jersey Devil








Leave a Reply