Factory Records Box Set En Route



Joy Division… New
Order… Durutti Column…Section 25…  A Certain Ratio… Happy Mondays… and more. Need we say


By Fred Mills



Well, it’s about time. Due Jan. 12 – in the UK, at least,
but it will certainly show up on these shores eventually, just like that Joy
Division box, initially offered in the UK and later in the US – via Rhino
Records is A Factory Box Set, four
discs’ worth of, you guessed it, Factory Recs’ bands. All the usual suspects
are present and accounted for (except for ESG) along with some genuinely
memorable obscuros like The Distractions, Minny Pops and the Stockholm


Raise your hands if you faithfully collected (like I did)
every single Factory platter you could get your hands on back in the day…


Cofounded by the late, great Tony Wilson, Factory was
the  soundtrack for fanboys,
trainspotters and bedsit types alike during the label’s late ‘70s/early ‘80s
salad days, but more to the point, much of the music has genuinely stood the
test of time. If you scan that list of tracks below and don’t agree, you
probably never heard much of the Factory output, so shame on you.



Track Listing:


Disc 1:

01 Joy Division: “Digital”
02 Cabaret Voltaire: “Baader Meinhof”
03 A Certain Ratio: “All Night Party”
04 OMD: “Electricity (Original Version)”
05 Joy Division: “She’s Lost Control”
06 The Distractions: “Times Goes By So Slow”
07 Joy Division: “Transmission”
08 The Durutti Column: “Sketch for Summer”
09 X-O-Dus: “English Black Boys”
10 Joy Division: “Love Will Tear Us Apart”
11 A Certain Ratio: “Shack Up”
12 Section 25: “Girls Don’t Count”
13 Crawling Chaos: “Sex Machine”
14 A Certain Ratio: “Flight”
15 The Names: “Night Shift”
16 New Order: “Ceremony (Original Version)”
17 Minny Pops: “Dolphin’s Spurt”
18 John Dowie: “It’s Hard to Be an Egg”
19 Crispy Ambulance: “Deaf”
20 Section 25: “Dirty Disco”

Disc 2:

01 New Order: “Everything’s Gone Green”
02 Tunnel Vision: “Watching the Hydroplanes”
03 The Durutti Column: “Messidor”
04 A Certain Ratio: “Knife Slits Water (LP Version)”
05 Royal Family and the Poor: “Art on 45”
06 Swamp Children: “Taste What’s Rhythm”
07 New Order: “Temptation”
08 52nd Street: “Cool as Ice”
09 New Order: “Blue Monday”
10 Cabaret Voltaire: “Yasher (John Robie Remix)”
11 Quando Quango: “Love Tempo”
12 The Wake: “Talk About the Past”

Disc 3:

01 New Order: “Confusion”
02 Marcel King: “Reach for Love”
03 Section 25: “Looking From a Hilltop (Restructure)”
04 Stockholm Monsters: “All at Once”
05 Life: “Tell Me”
06 The Durutti Column: “A Little Mercy (Duet)”
07 James: “Hymn From a Village”
08 Kalima: “Trickery”
09 A Certain Ratio: “Sounds Like Something Dirty”
10 Quando Quango: “Genius”
11 Happy Mondays: “Freaky Dancin'”
12 Miaow: “When It All Comes Down”
13 The Railway Children: “Brighter”
14 Biting Tongues: “Compressor”
15 New Order: “True Faith”
16 Happy Mondays: “24 Hour Party People”

Disc 4:

01 New Order: “Fine Time”
02 Happy Mondays: “W.F.L. (Think About the Future)”
03 Revenge: “Seven Reasons”
04 Happy Mondays: “Hallelujah (Club Mix)”
05 Electronic: “Getting Away With It”
06 Happy Mondays: “Step On (Lionrock Remix)”
07 Northside: “Shall We Take a Trip”
08 New Order: “World in Motion”
09 Happy Mondays: “Kinky Afro”
10 The Durutti Column: “Home”
11 Electronic: “Get the Message (DNA Remix)”
12 Northside: “Take 5”
13 Cath Carroll: “Moves Like You (Remix)”
14 The Other Two: “Tasty Fish (12″ Mix)”
15 Happy Mondays: “Sunshine and Love”



Leave a Reply