Drive-By Truckers Announce Jan. Dates

 

Then they start prepping new LP…

 

By Fred Mills

 

Currently in the midst of
a co-headling tour with the Hold Steady (and selling out venues across the
land), the Drive-By Truckers have just announced a string of dates for January.
These will be primarily in the South – including the band’s annual DBT Nuci’s
Space Benefit in Athens on January 15 – and after that the group will break to
work on their next studio album, the followup to this year’s Brighter Than Creation’s Dark.

 

In a missive penned for
the DBTs website, main Trucker Patterson Hood commented on the Hold Steady
trek, saying, “We are pleased to report that it has so far been even better
than we had hoped or expected on every level, they are a great band and
fantastic guys to hang out with. They bring it every single night and the bar
seems to get raised with each show. It was announced yesterday that Chicago is sold out as are both nights in Minneapolis. This has truly been a great way
to end our best year ever. Thanks very much to everyone who has come out and
supported us this year.”

 

A great year indeed – Brighter has wowed both critics and the
public, as has the band’s nonstop roadwork. Expect the album to figure prominently
in BLURT’s year-end best-of wrapup.

 

Drive-By Truckers Tour dates:

 
Thu Jan 15 Athens GA 40 WATT – NUCI’S SPACE BENEFIT
Fri Jan 16 Athens GA 40 WATT
Sat Jan 17 Athens GA 40 WATT Wed Jan 21 New Haven CT TOADS PLACE
Thu Jan 22 Sayreville NJ STARLAND BALLROOM
Fri Jan 23 Baltimore MD THE RECHER
Sat Jan 24 Richmond VA THE NATIONAL
Thu Jan 29 Knoxville TN VALARIUM
Fri Jan 30 Asheville NC ORANGE PEEL
Sat Jan 31 Asheville NC ORANGE PEEL

 

 

Leave a Reply