White Zombie Box Set Due Nov. 25



Let Sleeping Corpses Lie compiles
studio and live recordings, video and “hidden gems” spanning 1985-1996.

By Blurt Staff


On Nov. 25, Geffen/UME will exhume White Zombie for the box
set Let Sleeping Corpses Lie. The
four-CD, one-DVD set will feature all 64 original studio recordings released by
the band during its 1985-1996 career. The DVD will include nine music videos,
10 live performances, and some “hidden gems.” Among these latter items will be
tracks from rare early EPs Gods on Voodoo
(only 300 of those were pressed), Pig
(ltd. edition of 1,000), and Psycho-Head


Main man Rob Zombie writes of the
set on MySpace blog: “All I can say is boy the early shit is wacked. I haven’t
heard some of these songs in over twenty years. I don’t know what the hell we
were thinking.



“Everything is including on this
set. Over 4 and 1/2 hours of music plus tons of never before seen videos. 5
discs in all.”


Meatier details:


Disc One… includes all
of the tracks released on the New York City band’s own Silent Explosion
label–the four songs on the 1985
Gods On Voodoo Moon EP, of which only 300 copies were pressed; the
two songs on the 1986
Pig Heaven EP,
which had only 1,000 made; and the seven on 1987’s
Psycho-Head Blowout EP, which Nirvana’s Kurt Cobain called one of
his favorite albums.


Disc Two encompasses
White Zombie’s first two full-length albums, 1987’s
Soul-Crusher, which began on Silent Explosion but was re-released by Caroline Records the
following year, and 1989’s
Make Them Die Slowly.


Disc Three offers the
God Of Thunder EP and
the band’s 1992 major label debut,
La Sexorcisto: Devil Music Vol. 1, which broke the band into the Top 40,
earned double platinum and spawned the Best Hard Rock Performance
Grammy-nominated “Thunder Kiss ‘65” and “Black Sunshine” (with Iggy Pop). Also
heard is “I Am Hell” from the soundtrack to the 1993 animated flick
Beavis & Butt-head Experience.


Disc Four opens with
“Children Of The Grave” from a 1994 Black Sabbath tribute album and “Feed The
Gods” from that year’s
Airheads soundtrack album. The centerpiece, however, is 1995’s Astro-Creep: 2000,
Songs Of Love, Destruction And Other Synthetic Delusions Of The Electric Head, which ranked in the Top 10 for two months,
was certified triple platinum and spun off the Modern Rock Top 10, Grammy
nominated “More Human Than Human.” The 64
Let Sleeping Corpses Lie recordings conclude with 1996 soundtrack
contributions to
Escape From L.A., Beavis And Butt-head Do America and The Crow: City Of Angels, with its Grammy nominated cover of the
disco hit “I’m Your Boogieman.”


Among the DVD’s videos
are those for “More Human Than Human,” winner of the MTV Video Music Award for
Best Hard Rock Video, as well as “Thunder Kiss ’65,” “Black Sunshine,” “Super-Charger
Heaven,” “I’m Your Boogieman” and “The One.” Live performances include
“Soul-Crusher,” “Spiderbaby (Yeah Yeah Yeah),” “I Am Hell” and “Creature Of The


Leave a Reply