Radiohead & More on Give. Listen. Help. Comp.



Urban Outfitters Fights
Cancer with stellar Music Taste


by Brian Creech



Act quick, Uber-Hipster retailer (or is it post-Uber-Hipster
retailer), Urban Outfitters will be selling the tres-chic compilation Give. Listen. Help. Volume 5 for a
limited time only.  Arriving at retail
stores on October 15th and departing for good on January 31st, the 27 track
double disc collection features live versions and covers from Bloc Party, Jack
Johnson, Oasis, The Decemberists, and Ra Ra Riot, as well as unreleased tracks
from Garbage and The Little Ones.  Oh,
and there is a Radiohead song, “House of Cards,” the same version you probably
downloaded for free on In Rainbows. 



Snarkiness aside, all proceeds from the compilation will go to
the Pablove Foundation, created to support Pablo Castelaz, the 5-year-old son
of Dangerbird Records’ co-founder Jeff Castelaz and his wife Jo Ann Thrailkill.  You can follow Pablo’s progress over at



Big shout-out to Urban Outfitters and Filter Magazine for cluing
you in to some “hip tunes” while also helping a really cool kid fight
cancer.  Score one for music’s innate
ability to bring good things to the world.



The song list reads like a veritable cool/was cool/might be cool
guide for 2008, with the Dangerbird Record’s record stable kicking in a hefty
set of songs for good luck:



Disc 1:


01 Garbage: “Witness to Your Love” *

02 Radiohead: “House of Cards”

03 Of Montreal: “Jimmy” (Parvati Khan/M.I.A. cover)

04 Bat for Lashes: “What’s a Girl to Do? (Plaid Remix)”

05 Oasis: “Falling Down (Chemical Brothers Remix)”

06 Rilo Kiley: “Draggin’ Around” *

07 Bloc Party: “Flux (JKL remix)”

08 The Faint: “The Geeks Were Right” (DIOYY

09 CSS: “Rat Is Dead (Rage)”

10 The Decemberists: “Billy Liar” (live)

11 Ra Ra Riot: “Can You Tell (Little Ones Remix)”

12 Ladytron: “Ghosts (Modwheelmood Mix)”

13 The Little Ones: “I Don’t Want to Dance ” *

14 Other Lives: “Paper Cities” *

15 Two Sheds: “You”

16 Jack Johnson: “All at Once” (live at Bumbershoot


* previously unreleased


Disc 2:


01 Silversun Pickups: “Table Scraps”

02 Eulogies: “Is There Anyone Here?”

03 Darker My Love: “Blue Day”

04 The Dears: “Crisis 1 & 2”

05 Sea Wolf: “The Promise”

06 The Curse of Company: “All the Mines”

07 The One AM Radio: “Old Men”

08 Ed Laurie: “Albert”

09 Eric Avery: “All Remote and No Control”

10 Dappled Cities: “Vision Bell”

11 La Rocca: “Cross the River”



Leave a Reply