Americana Awards: Plant & Krauss, Helm, More



By Blurt Staff


BLURT would like to extend our congratulations to all at the
Americana Music Association. Levon Helm and Alison Krauss & Robert Plant were among the winners at Thursday’s 7th
Annual Honors & Awards show put on by the AMA at Nashville’s Historic Ryman
 Auditorium. Appearing at the
festivities to pick up two awards for
their critically-acclaimed “Raising Sand”
Krauss and Plant won Album of the Year and
Duo/Group of the Year.

Awards were given out in six member voted categories:

Album of the Year: Alison Krauss &
Robert Plant/Raising Sand
Artist of the Year: Levon Helm
Duo/Group of the Year: Alison Krauss & Robert Plant
Instrumentalist of the Year: Buddy Miller
New Emerging Artist of the Year: Mike Farris
Song of the Year: “She Left Me for
Jesus” by Hayes Carll and Brian Keane

Additional Lifetime Achievement Honors were given to:

Spirit of Americana Free Speech in Music – Joan Baez
Lifetime Achievement / Songwriting – John Hiatt
Jack Emerson Lifetime Achievement / Executive – Terry Lickona
Lifetime Achievement / Performance – Jason & The
Presidents Award – Jerry Garcia
Lifetime Achievement / Instrumentalist – Larry Campbell
Trailblazer / Nanci Griffith
Lifetime Achievement / Producer / Engineer – Tony Brown

The three hour program was hosted by two-time Americana Honors & Awards and
Grammy recipient Jim Lauderdale. Award winner Buddy
Miller also returned as the band leader. Other special guests included Ryan Bingham and Joe Ely,
The Sam Bush Band, Kane, Welch and Kaplan, The
SteelDrivers, Tift Merritt, Chris Thile and Edgar Meyer,
Justin Townes Earle, James
McMurtry, Miller and Robert Plant, and Steve
Earle and
Alison Moorer.


The event was broadcast live on XM Satellite Radio and
BBC 2 Radio will also broadcast the show at a later date.



Leave a Reply