JAY REATARD DROPS SINGLES COLLECTION

 

By Randy Harward

 

Idiot savant garage
rocker Jay Reatard’s gonna drop Singles
06-07
, compiling 17 already
out-of-print limited-edition singles he recorded for In The Red, Goner,
Squoodge, P. Trash and Stained Circles. Reatard played every note (save some
geetar on “All Wasted” by Alix Brown of Angry Angels), and did all the
knob-twiddlin’, too. The deluxe package also includes a DVD with four live
shows: Philadelphia, Las Vegas, New York
City and The Netherlands.

 

According to the
press release from In the Red Records, “2006 and 2007 was an insanely prolific
time for Jay, as he left behind his many bands and projects (among them The
Reatards, The Lost Sounds, Angry Angles, Final Solutions, Bad Times, Terror
Visions, etc.) and started recording under his own name, taking musical cues
from Wipers, Wire, The Clean, The Adverts and 999. Five singles were released
around the time of his breakthrough album Blood Visions, as some of those
album’s songs first appeared in versions on 7″ singles first.”

 

The package comes
one week before Reatard releases the third 7” in his limited-edition Matador
singles series (to be compiled on CD this September, preceding a full-length
debut on Matador in 2009), and roughly three weeks before a tour that’ll take
him from Denmark (Roskilde Festival) to Dallas.

 

Jay Reatard Tour Dates:

 

 

Sunday, July 6: Roskilde, Denmark
(Roskilde
Festival *with Slayer, Judas Priest, Neil Young*)

Monday, July 14: Philadelphia, PA
(Johnny Brendas)

Tuesday, July 15: Brooklyn, NY (Prospect Park Bandshell *with Spoon*)

Thursday, July 17: Providence, RI
(Lupo’s *with Spoon*)

Saturday, July 19: Chicago, IL
(Pitchfork Music Festival *with King Khan & The Shrines, Times New Viking,
Dinosaur Jr.*)

Sunday, July 20: Minneapolis, MN
(Triple Rock *with Cheap Time*)

Monday, July 21: Fargo, ND
(The Aquarium *with Cheap Time*)

Thursday, July 24: Seattle, WA
(Capitol Hill Block Party *with Le Savy Fav*)

Friday, July 25: Vancouver, WA
(Commodore Ballroom *with Le Savy Fav*)

Saturday, July 26: Portland, OR
(Doug Fir *with Cheap Time*)

Monday, July 28: San Francisco, CA
(The Independent *with Cheap Time*)

Wednesday, July 30: Los Angeles, CA
(The Echo *with Cheap Time*)

Thursday, July 31: San Diego, CA
(The Casbah *with Cheap Time*)

Friday, August 1: Mesa, AZ (Hollywood Alley *with Cheap Time*)

Sunday, August 3: Austin, TX
(Red 7 *with Cheap Time*)

Monday, August 4: Dallas, TX
(Club Dada *with Cheap Time*)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply