Track Premiere: Drivin’ N Cryin’ Preps Vinyl Reissue

VINTAGE-DnC

Band will also be jamming at our annual Austin party during SXSW. Tour dates listed below.

By Blurt Staff

Due on May 12 via the esteemed Plowboy label is Best Of Songs from Blurt heroes Drivin’ N Cryin’, a ten-song vinyl-only LP that collects the band’s favorite tracks from their 2012-2014 EP series, Songs From the Laundromat; Songs About Cars, Space and the Ramones; Songs From the Psychedelic Time Clock; and Songs for the Turntable. So as the saying goes, we are positively stoked to be able to showcase a track from the forthcoming set exclusively for Blurt readers. It’s the riffily infections “Hot Wheels” so check it out:

“We do what we do because we’re still just kids in the treehouse having fun,” frontman and founder Kevn Kinney says of the band that he’s led for 30 years. “I’m a Drivin’ N’ Cryin’ fan, and I make these records to give myself something to listen to, in the same way that people who make moonshine make it because they like to drink it.”

We’ll drink to that, Kevn. And looking forward to seeing y’all in Austin again this year during SXSW—DNC will be performing on Friday, March 20, at the Blurt/Dogfish Head party, taking the stage at 7pm before heading over to Javelina’s for a 10:50 set at the Atomic Music Group Party. Then they do it all over again the next day, Saturday March 21, first at the Yard Dog party (5:45pm) then at The Saxon for the Plowboy Recs party (11:30pm).

Meanwhile, Kinney himself will be doing a string of solo sets earlier in the week—the full SXSW itinerary, along with the band’s complete list of tour dates, is below.

Of the Best of Songs LP, the impetus to compile highlights from the EPs into album form arrived when Plowboy’s Cheetah Chrome, an old pal, approached Kinney about recording for the label. “Cheetah asked me if I wanted to make a Drivin’ N’ Cryin’ album,” Kinney recalls, “and I said that I didn’t think I had it in me to make another album at that moment.  But I’d always wanted to make a greatest-hits album from the EPs. I had originally hoped that people would make their own albums out of their favorite songs on the EPs, and this is my version of that.”

 

FULL LIST OF TOUR DATES:

Thurs., March 12   Chattanooga, TN   Rhythm & Brews

Fri., March 13   Greenville, SC   Gottrocks

Wed., March 18  (Kevn Kinney) Austin, TX (SXSW)  Conqueroo Kickoff Party @ The Dogwood

Thurs., March 19 (Kevn Kinney) Austin, TX (SXSW)  Freebirds @ St. Vincent de Paul’s

Thurs., March 19 (Kevn Kinney) Austin, TX (SXSW)  Atomic Music Group Party @ Holy Mountain

Fri., March 20  (Kevn Kinney) Austin, TX (SXSW) Atomic Music Group Party @ C-Boys Heart & Soul

Fri., March 20   Austin, TX (SXSW)  Blurt Magazine/Dogfish Head Brewing Co. Part @ The Ginger Man

Fri., March 20   Austin, TX (SXSW)  Atomic Music Group Party @ Javelina’s

Sat., March 21   Austin, TX (SXSW)  Yard Dog Art Party @ Yard Dog

Sat., March 21   Austin, TX (SXSW)  Plowboy Records Party @ The Saxon

Wed., March 25   Franklin, TN  Music City Roots

Thurs., March 26   Birmingham, AL   Zydeco

Fri., March 27   Memphis, TN   1884 Lounge @ Minglewood Hall

Sat., March 28   Meridian, MS   59Twenty Music Festival

Tues., April 21   Sheffield, UK   Greystones

Wed., April 22   London, UK   Boston Music Room

Thurs., April 23   Newcastle, UK   The Cluny

Sat., April 25   Hengelo, Netherlands   Heartland Festival @ Metropool Poppodium

Sun., April 26   The Hague, NL   Life I Live Music Festival

Mon., April 27   Bergen Op Zoom, NL   Gebouw-T

Tues., April 28  Amsterdam, NL   Instore TBD

Wed., April 29   Tilburg, NL  Paradox

Thurs., April 30   Nijmegen, NL  Merleyn

Fri., May 1   Hoorn, NL   Peticantus

Sat., May 2   Gronigen, NL   R&B Night

Wed., May 6   PonteVedra, FL   Live at the Lot @ Players Gold Championship

Thurs., May 7   Orlando, FL   The Abbey

Fri., May 8   Savannah, GA   Coach’s Corner

Fri., May 9   Isle Of Palms, SC   Windjammer

Sat., May 10   MyrtleBeach, SC   The Boathouse

Sat., June 13   Atlanta, GA   Oakland Cemetery Benefit Concert

Sat., July 4   Tuckasegee, NC   Bear Lake Reserve

One thought on “Track Premiere: Drivin’ N Cryin’ Preps Vinyl Reissue

  1. Pingback: First Concert: Kevn Kinney of Drivin' N' Cryin' - Riffraf. Riffraf.

Leave a Reply