Exclusive Video: New Chris Smither (acoustic): Down to the Sound

O, what a lucky man: Key track from new album currently out (and being toured as well).

By Fred Mills

This clip is a personal fave: Having followed Chris Smither avidly ever since seeing him in a small blues club in Charlotte, NC (and later having the privilege of hanging with him and sundry other fans and media types during a memorable night of, ahem, music and fun in Tucson, AZ), I can state personally that the cat is the real freakin’ deal —and you, gentle readers, will bear witness with me when you view the following video for “Down to the Sound,” a special solo acoustic performance, filmed in Leverett, MA, of a key track from his superb new album, Call Me Lucky (Signature Sounds/Mighty Albert), which dropped a few days ago, on March 2:

With video production via J. Elon Goodman / www.saltstage.com, this simple-yet-piercing track comes alive, not unlike having the blues/Americana virtuoso sitting across you in your own house.

Smither, on the track: “This song came about from some press interview awhile back when I was in the middle of writing songs for this record. He asked me the question I’ve been asked more times than I care to remember, ‘How do you write songs?’  I think ‘Down To The Sound’ ended up being a suitable answer.”

Amen, sir.

It’s the Boston virtuoso’s 18th—yes, that makes EIGHTEEN—album to date, and a 2CD set to boot, one which took him to Austin with producer David Goodrich along with players Billy Conway (Morphine) and Matt Lorenz (The Suitcase junket). If you need more convincing, HERE is a video you can also view over at NPR’s World Café.

Or you could just check out the man in concert, because he’s on the road just about constantly for the next couple of months…

Wed., March 7  PORTLAND, OR Alberta Rose Theatre*

Thurs., March 8  EUGENE, OR Shedd Institute*

Fri., March 9  BAINBRIDGE WA The Treehouse Café*

Sat., March 10  VANCOUVER, BC St. James Hall*

Sun., March 11  SEATTLE, WA  Tractor Tavern*

Wed., March 14  SANTA CRUZ, CA  Kuumbwa Jazz Center*

Thurs., March 15  AUBURN, CA  Auburn Placer Performing Arts Center*

Fri., March 16  BERKELEY, CA  Freight & Salvage*

Sat., March 17  SEBASTOPOL, CA  Sebastopol Community Center*

Fri., March 30  HOUSTON, TX  The Mucky Duck

Sat., March 31  AUSTIN, TX  Cactus Cafe

Wed., April 4  NEW YORK, NY  City Winery NYC*

Fri., April 6  FALL RIVER, MA Narrows Center for Arts*

Sat., April 7  TURNERS FALLS, MA Shea Theater*

Sun., April 8  CAMBRIDGE, MA  The Sinclair*

Fri., April 13  AUBURN, NY  Auburn Public Theater

Sat., April 14  PHILADELPHIA, PA  World Cafe Live

Sun., April 15  BALTIMORE, MD  Creative Alliance at Patterson

Fri., April 27  NASHVILLE, TN  Bluebird Cafe

Sat., April 28  BATON ROUGE, LA Red Dragon Listening Room

Sun., April 29  NEW ORLEANS, LA Chickie Wah Wah

Thurs., May 10  EVANSTON, IL  Evanston SPACE

Fri., May 11  MINNEAPOLIS, MN Cedar Cultural Center

Sat., May 12  ANN ARBOR, MI The Ark

Sun., May 13  CLEVELAND, OH Beachland Ballroom

Tues., May 15  PITTSBURGH, PA  Club Cafe

Wed., May 16  BUFFALO, NY  9th Ward @ Babeville

Thurs., May 17  ROCHESTER, NY Penthouse at One East Ave

Fri., July 20  TELLURIDE, CO  Telluride Americana Music Festival


*Band dates


Leave a Reply