BLURT Heads To Austin For SXSW; also Announces Annual Day Party(s)

BlurtLogo yellow

Includes another special Jon Langford-curated afternoon along with parties co-hosted with Toolshed Media and Rajiworld Entertainment. Among the heavy hitters appearing over the course of 4 days and 3 nights: Amy Ray, Nicole Atkins, Autumn Defense, Waco Brothers, Sidewinders, Garland Jeffreys, David J, Drivin’ N’ Cryin’, Steve Wynn, John Doe and Ian McLagan.

 By Fred Mills

 We are damn pleased and proud to announce our annual Industry Of Music Showcase day parties that will be taking place in Austin on March 12-15 during SXSW. As in years past it will be held on the eternally sunshiney patio of the Ginger Man Pub (301 Lavaca St., between 3rd and 4th Streets; check this map for logistics) and as in years past we expect the crowds to be plentiful, so sketch out your plans accordingly if you will be in Austin that week. The 4-day/3-night bash will be free and open to everyone, no badges or wristbands required.

 Many thanks to our partner Dogfish Head beer as well as the good folks at the Ginger Man – we couldn’t do it without ya, folks.  Check out what we had happening last year right here, and then take a gander at our 2014 schedule below – let’s rock!

Dogfish Head logo

 

WEDNESDAY  (3/12)

 Curated by Toolshed Media

 1:00 – 1:30   Future Monarchs  – (w/ Pat Sansone from Wilco and The Autumn Defense) –  https://www.facebook.com/FutureMonarchs

 1:45 – 2:15   Leah Mason w/ Brendan Bensonhttps://www.facebook.com/leahmasonmusicso  http://brendanbenson.com 

 2:30 – 3:00   Haley Bonarwww.haleybonar.com 

 3:15 – 3:45   The Autumn Defense – (includes Pat and John from Wilco) – http://autumndefense.tumblr.com

 4:00 – 4:30   Tom Maxwell  – (of the Squirrel Nut Zippers) –  www.tommaxwell.com  

 4:45 – 5:15   Basia Bulatwww.basiabulat.com  

 5:30 – 6:00   Nicole Atkinshttp://nicoleatkins.com   

 6:15 – 6:45   Amy Ray – (of The Indigo Girls) – www.amy-ray.com

 ***

 THURSDAY  (3/13)

 Jon Langford’s perfect day of hand crafted Rock and Roll Perfection!  Volume Three

 1:00 – 1:20   Mike June (Acoustic) – www.mikejune.com 

 1:30 – 1:50   Chris Millswww.chris-mills.com   

 2:00 – 2:20   Dog Trumpet – (featuring Reg Mombassa) www.dogtrumpet.net  

 2:30 – 2:50   Walter Salas-Humara  (of The Silos) – http://waltersalashumara.com

 3:00 – 3:30   Waco Brothers – (members from the Mekons, Graham Parker, Jesus Jones) www.bloodshotrecords.com/artist/waco-brothers

 3:45 – 4:15   Garland Jeffreyshttp://garlandjeffreys.com

 4:30 – 5:00   J.D. Wilkes and the Dirt Daubers  – (of The Legendary Shack Shakers) http://thedirtdaubers.net 

 5:15 – 5:30   Paul Burchhttp://paulburch.com   

 5:45 – 6:15   Jon Langford & Skull Orchard – (of the Waco Bros, Mekons) www.jonlangford.de 

 6:30 – 7:00   Churchwoodhttp://www.reverbnation.com/churchwoodtx

 7:15 – 7:45   Deano & the Purvs – (of the Waco Bros, the Meat Purveyors) www.twangfest.com/artists/deano-the-purvs/

 8:00 – 8:30   Love, Hope, Strength  (Special Guest!)    

 8:50 – 9:30   T. Hardy Morris – (of Dead Confederate) – http://t.hardymorris.com  

 9:50 – 10:30   The Sidewindershttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sidewinders  

 10:50 – 11:30   The Everymenhttp://theeverymen.bandcamp.com   

 11:50 – 12:25a   Doug Gillard (Doug from Guided By Voices) – www.douggillard.com 

 12:30 – 1:00a   Sally Crewe & The Sudden Moveswww.sallycrewe.com 

 ***

 FRIDAY  (3/14) 

 Co-Presented by RajiWorld Entertainment

 1:00 – 1:30   New Madridwww.newmadridband.com 

 1:45 – 2:15   The Defibulators www.thedefibulators.com

 2:30 – 3:00   Sister Sparrow and the Dirty Birdswww.sistersparrow.com 

 3:15 – 3:55   David J – (of Bauhaus, Love and Rockets) – http://davidjonline.com

 4:10 – 4:50   The Fleshtoneshttp://rajiworld.com/artist/the-fleshtones/

  5:10 – 5:50   Steve Wynn & The Miracle 3 – (of The Dream Syndicate) – http://rajiworld.com/artist/steve-wynn/

  6:10 – 6:50   Urge Overkillwww.urgeoverkill.com  

 7:10 – 7:50   The Split Squad – (members of The Fleshtones, The Plimsouls, R.E.M./Young Fresh Fellows) – http://rajiworld.com/artist/the-split-squad/

8:10 – 9:00   Drivin’ n’ Cryin’http://www.drivinncryin.com 

 9:20 – 9:50   Tuomo & Markus – (featuring John Stirratt from Wilco/The Autumn Defense)

 10:10 – 10:50   Cotton Matherhttp://rajiworld.com/artist/cotton-mather/  

 11:10 – 11:50   Danny B & Jyrki 69 (Special Guest!)

 12:10 – 12:40a   Davin McCoy and the Coming Attractionswww.davinmccoy.com

 ***

 SATURDAY  (3/15)

 1:00 – 1:30   Jonah Tolchinwww.jonahtolchin.com 
1:45 – 2:15   American Aquariumwww.americanaquarium.net/  
2:30 – 3:00   Jonny Two Bags – (of Social Distortion) – www.jonnytwobags.com   
3:15 – 3:45   Ian McLagan – (of Small Faces, The Faces) – www.ianmclagan.com    
4:00 – 4:30   The Minus 5 – (Scott from Young Fresh Fellows, R.E.M., The Split Squad) – www.minus5.com  
4:45 – 5:15   The Baseball Project – (members of The Dream Syndicate, Young Fresh Fellows, R.E.M., The Split Squad) – www.baseballproject.net   
5:30 – 6:00   Mandolin Orangewww.mandolinorange.com   
6:15 – 7:00   John Doe – (of X) – www.theejohndoe.com 
7:15 – 7:45   Parson Red Headswww.theparsonredheads.com 
8:00 – 8:40   Girls Guns and Gloryhttp://girlsgunsandglory.com 
9:00 – 9:40   So Long, Problemswww.solongproblems.com     
10:00 – 10:40   Enemy Planeswww.enemyplanes.com    
11:00 – 11:50   Hank Sinatrawww.hank-sinatra.com 
12:10 – 1am   Come See My Dead Personwww.csmdp.com 

 

Leave a Reply