Blurt Fall Heroes #16: Justin Dean Thomas

Justin

Sharp-sounding EP due out next month. Johnny Burnette, Heartbreakers, Ty Segall and Dylan fans, take note.

By Blurt Staff

Justin Dean Thomas is a NYC singer songwriter. Originally from Boston, he cut his teeth playing everywhere he could, hitchhiking his way across America and immersing himself in folk, country, rhythm & blues and rock n roll. Lending his time to poetry and songwriting, he developed a sound all his own. Living in NYC, Justin got his foray singing in the subways and clubs, while gathering momentum to work on solo material. His previous single, ‘Standing In The Door’, was featured in the movie ‘The Color Of Time’ and he now releases ‘Anytime I’m Feelin’, the lead song off his forthcoming EP (to be released late fall). Check it out, below:

Think Johnny Burnett meets Johnny Thunders’ Heartbreakers meets Ty Segall meets Dylan’s The Basement Tapes, ‘Anytime I’m Feelin’ also features a guest appearance from ex-Smiths bassist, Andy Rourke. Look out for Justin live this weekend, Oct. 17, at the Cobra Club in Brooklyn. A release show is forthcoming.

 ***

This is part of BLURT’s ongoing “Fall Heroes 2015” series spotlighting key upcoming releases (key to US, at least…). Check out the list of artists to date and click on the links to read more and to listen to advance tracks:

Lanterns On the Lake: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-1-lanterns-on-the-lake/

New Mastersounds: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-2-new-mastersounds/

Here We Go Magic: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-3-here-we-go-magic/

Anthony Neff: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-4-n-c-s-anthony-neff-the-nearly-distants/

Bottle Rockets: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-5-the-bottle-rockets/

Foxymorons: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-6-the-foxymorons/

Maserati: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-7-maserati/

Car Seat Headrest: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-8-car-seat-headrest/

Terry Adams of NRBQ: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-9-terry-adams-of-nrbq/

!!!: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-10-as-if/

Des Ark: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-11-des-ark-everything-dies/

Sonny Vincent: http://blurtonline.com/news/blurt-fall-heroes-12-sonny-vincent-bizarro-hymns/

Ahleuchatistas: http://blurtonline.com/news/blurt-fall-heroes-13-ahleuchatistas-arrebato/

John Wesley Coleman III: http://blurtonline.com/news/blurt-fall-heroes-14-john-wesley-coleman-iii/

Tim O’Brien: http://blurtonline.com/news/blurt-fall-heroes-15-tim-obrien/

 

Leave a Reply