Blurt Fall Heroes #15: Tim O’Brien

Tim

Listen to a new track below from the bluegrass/folk virtuoso’s new album.

By Blurt Staff

Multi-award winning bluegrass-folk-singer-songwriter Tim O’Brien returns with Pompadour set to release on October 30th on his label Howdy Skies Records. Produced and recorded by O’Brien, he continues to meld his love for the traditional sounds of bluegrass and country with his dash of modern that finds him in a new place in life. Below, listen to a version of a song originally from the new album:

It’s been four years since the last Tim O’Brien solo record, and he has not sat idle. He’s been fronting, piloting and performing with folks like Steve Martin and Mark Knopfler to Hot Rize and Earls of Leicester, a group that includes dobro-master, Jerry Douglas. He’s achieved award-winning success as well. The seeds of Pompadour took root about three years ago when O’Brien welcomed his New Zealand traveling colleagues to Nashville.

“Gerry Paul is a guitarist from Wellington, New Zealand, and Trevor Hutchinson is a bassist from Dublin, Ireland,” O’Brien says. “We grabbed a couple of days and recorded. This album was meant for the three of us to tour behind, but a lot of other things got in the way. And Gerry and Trevor both play with various bands, so I decided to finish it up on my own.

“This album feels really good to me. I love collaborating with other people, but I also like to stretch out and achieve things I might be best able to do on my own. It hangs together and tells a story. It’s honest. It shows who I am as a person as well as a musician. That’s something I can be proud of.”

A tour also kicks off this month. On the web details: www.timobrien.net

 ***

This is part of BLURT’s ongoing “Fall Heroes 2015” series spotlighting key upcoming releases (key to US, at least…). Check out the list of artists to date and click on the links to read more and to listen to advance tracks:

 

Lanterns On the Lake: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-1-lanterns-on-the-lake/

New Mastersounds: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-2-new-mastersounds/

Here We Go Magic: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-3-here-we-go-magic/

Anthony Neff: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-4-n-c-s-anthony-neff-the-nearly-distants/

Bottle Rockets: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-5-the-bottle-rockets/

Foxymorons: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-6-the-foxymorons/

Maserati: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-7-maserati/

Car Seat Headrest: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-8-car-seat-headrest/

Terry Adams of NRBQ: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-9-terry-adams-of-nrbq/

!!!: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-10-as-if/

Des Ark: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-11-des-ark-everything-dies/

Sonny Vincent: http://blurtonline.com/news/blurt-fall-heroes-12-sonny-vincent-bizarro-hymns/

Ahleuchatistas: http://blurtonline.com/news/blurt-fall-heroes-13-ahleuchatistas-arrebato/

John Wesley Coleman III: http://blurtonline.com/news/blurt-fall-heroes-14-john-wesley-coleman-iii/

 

Leave a Reply