Blurt Fall Heroes #12: Sonny Vincent (“Bizarro Hymns”)

Sonny

Punk vet’s smashing new platter drops next week…

By Blurt Staff

With song titles like “Don’t Give A Fuck,” “Faster Pussycat” and “Pushing Up Daisies” you’re probably not going to expect a tender song cycle, eh? And that’s just fine with NYC Punk legend Sonny Vincent (The Testors, Sonny Vincent & Spite), who returns next week, Oct. 2, with a brand new album full of gritty, grimy, take-no-prisoners Punk Rock’N’Roll. It’s titled Bizarro Hymns and it arrives via Get Hip.

Sonny LP
Bizarro Hymns, the swift followup to Spiteful, features 15 raw, new cuts of fuzzed-out Blues Rock mayhem imbued with the rebellious attitude of ’77 Punk. From album opener “Don’t Give A Fuck”s “attitude-soaked, middle finger riff-a-rama” to “the garage stomp of ‘Voodoo Box'” and “the full-on fuzz of ‘Spin Out’,” Vincent continues to prove that the spirit of Punk Rock never dies. It just gets better–and more volatile–with age.

The vinyl version will be available on black, translucent blue and crystal clear wax if you are lucky enough to score it before copies are all gone. Vincent has also already kicked off an extensive tour that’ll run through the middle of next month, including a stop TONIGHT in Memphis for Gonerfest. He will knock your proverbial socks off, no lie. Here’s a live clip to prove just that:

Tour Dates:

Monday Sept 21- Richmond, VA- Strange Matter
Tuesday September 22- Wilmington,N.C.-Reggies 42nd Street
Wednesday September 23- Chapel Hill, N.C.-The Cave
Thursday September 24- Nashville,TN-The Basement
Friday September 25-Memphis, TN – Gonerfest
Saturday September 26– Atlanta, GA – Starbar
Sunday September 27– Asheville, NC -The Odditorium/Tremors
Monday September 28– Chattanooga,TN- JJ’s Bohemia
Tuesday September 29 – Dayton,OH – Blind Bobs
Wednesday September 30– Cleveland, Ohio- Beachland Tavern
Thursday October 1– Baltimore, MD-Metro Gallery
Friday October 2 – Washington DC /Bethesda,MD – Villian & Saint
Saturday October 3 – Pittsburgh, PA – Get Hip HQ
Sunday October 4– Philadelphia, PA-The Pharmacy
Monday October 5– Rochester,New York – Bug Jar
Tuesday October 6– Providence, Rhode Island- AS220
Wednesday October 7– New Haven, CT – Cafe Nine
Thursday October 8-NYC – Bowery Electric
Friday October 9– London , Ontario,Canada – Call The Office
Saturday October 10-Chicago, Ill – Empty Bottle
Sunday October 11– Indianapolis, IN – State Street Pub
Monday October 12– Madison, WI – Mickey”s
Tuesday October 13– Columbus,, OH- Ace Of Cups
Wednesday October 14-Detroit, MI – Smalls
Thursday October 15– Buffalo, New York – Iron Works
Friday October 16-Hamilton, Canada- This Ain’t Hollywood
Saturday October 17– Montreal, Canada – Coop KATACOMBES.

***

This is part of BLURT’s ongoing “Fall Heroes 2015” series spotlighting key upcoming releases (key to US, at least…). Check out the list of artists to date and click on the links to read more and to listen to advance tracks:

Lanterns On the Lake: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-1-lanterns-on-the-lake/

New Mastersounds: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-2-new-mastersounds/

Here We Go Magic: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-3-here-we-go-magic/

Anthony Neff: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-4-n-c-s-anthony-neff-the-nearly-distants/

Bottle Rockets: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-5-the-bottle-rockets/

Foxymorons: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-6-the-foxymorons/

Maserati: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-7-maserati/

Car Seat Headrest: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-8-car-seat-headrest/

Terry Adams of NRBQ: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-9-terry-adams-of-nrbq/

!!!: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-10-as-if/

Des Ark: http://blurtonline.com/news/fall-heroes-preview-11-des-ark-everything-dies/

Sonny Vincent: http://blurtonline.com/news/blurt-fall-heroes-12-sonny-vincent-bizarro-hymns/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply