MP3: New Spiritualized Track

 

The road to recovery
has been fraught, to say the least. Check tour dates, below. And yes, that is the new album sleeve, above.

 

By Blurt Staff

 

As previously announced, Spiritualized’s Jason Spaceman
has his 7th studio album Sweet
Heart Sweet Light
 will be released on Fat
Possum on April 17th. The three years since
the release of 2008’s acclaimed Songs
In A&E
 were some of the roughest imaginable for Jason.

 

After a near death from double pneumonia in 2005 it was a
slow road to recovery, a process he touched upon on with great grace on the
last album. His return to full health saw him release Songs In A&E and
mount critically lauded performances of his 1997 game-changer Ladies And Gentlemen….We Are Floating In
Space
 on both sides of the Atlantic.
However, shortly after recording Sweet
Heart Sweet Light
 – in far flung locales such as Los Angeles, Reykavik
and Wales – Jason found himself weakened by a degenerative liver disease and
was subjected to six months of chemo treatment, a procedure that left him
virtually housebound while he mixed the album. 

 

 In a classic case of
triumph over tribulation, the resulting album is Spiritualized at their most
vibrant. First track available from the album is the impressive opener “Hey
Jane”, an energetic 8+ minutes of rousing organ, glittering guitar fuzz and
swirling choirs:

 

 


Spiritualized ‘Hey Jane’ by Spiritualized

 

The album also features a first for Spiritualized: Jason is
joined by his 11 year old daughter Poppy Spaceman on the starkly
beautiful closer “So Long You Pretty Thing” for which she also has a writing
credit for the opening couplet. Elsewhere on the album is “I Am What I Am”
which was co-written by Jason and “Mac” Rebennack, aka Dr John. 

 

Spiritualized North
American Tour Dates:

 

05/02/12 Wed – Minneapolis
MN @ First Avenue

05/03/12 Thu – Chicago,
IL @ Metro

05/04/12 Fri – Detroit,
MI @ The Majestic Theatre

05/05/12 Sat – Toronto, ON @ The Phoenix

05/07/12 Mon – New
York, NY @ Terminal 5

05/09/12 Wed – Boston, MA @ Paradise

05/10/12 Thu – Washington,
DC @ The 9:30 Club

05/11/12 Fri – Philadelphia,
PA @ Theatre Of Living Arts

05/12/12 Sat – Carrboro,
NC @ Cat’s Cradle

05/13/12 Sun – Atlanta,
GA @ The Variety Playhouse

05/15/12 Tue – Dallas,
TX @ The Granada Theatre

05/16/12 Wed – Austin,
TX @ Emo’s East

05/18/12 Fri – Tucson
AZ @ The Rialto Theatre

05/19/12 Sat – Phoenix
AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom

05/20/12 Sun – San
Diego CA @ Belly Up
Tavern

05/22/12 Tue – Los
Angeles CA @ The
Wiltern

05/23/12 Wed – San
Francisco CA @ The
Fillmore

05/25/12 Fri – Portland
OR @ The Wonder Ballroom

05/26/12 Sat – Vancouver
BC @ The Rickshaw Theatre

 

 

Sweet Heart Sweet
Light Tracklist:

 

1. Hey Jane 
                                                 
6. Freedom

2. Little
Girl                                                     
7. I Am What I Am

3. Get What
You                                            
8. Mary

4. Too
Late                                                     
9. Life Is A Problem

5. Heading For The
Top                                 
10. So Long You Pretty Things       

 

Leave a Reply