PRS Guitars Launches “ABC’s of SXSW"

 

Internet radio show debuts on New Normal
Music this week.

 

What do you get when you invite 15
great bands showcasing at SXSW to record acoustic numbers in a wine cellar
decked with recording equipment, a former XM radio DJ, and two PRS acoustic
guitars? You get internet radio’s new kid, New Normal Music, and their upcoming
series “The ABC’s of SXSW on NNM.” Airing March 28 through April 1 on www.newnormalmusic.com,
this uniquely indie acoustic program will feature wine-cellar recordings of
fresh-faced artists performing exclusively with Paul Reed Smith acoustic
guitars direct from SXSW 2011. “The ABC’s of SXSW on NNM” will play back these
acoustic sessions in alphabetical order and will be hosted by NNM DJ’s Art and
Tobi.

 

Bands like Dale Ernhardt Jr. Jr., the
Moondoggies, Alcoholic Faith Mission, Apex Manor (whose Ross Flourney is
pictured, above, playing a PRS acoustic), and Small Sins were all part of this
VIP project showcasing PRS acoustic guitars. PRS provided a 25th Anniversary PRS Acoustic (with a retail value of $20,000) and one not yet named
prototype PRS Acoustic for the performances. The guitars were well received,
with all the bands opting to use PRS even though some had lugged their own
equipment to the venue. And when Iceland’s FM Belfast showed up for
what was supposed to be just an interview, all bets were off when they strummed
their very first PRS acoustic guitar. FM Belfast dug the sound of the
instrument so much that they sorted out an acoustic version of their electronic
song “Underwear” right on the spot, which turned out to be the band’s
first ever acoustic recording. Canada’s
Small Sins even captured a bit of video from their PRS acoustic session. You
can check out the clip here:

 

 http://www.spinner.ca/2011/03/20/small-sins-sxsw-road-report/?fb_ref=article&fb_source=profile_oneline 

 

 

Be sure to listen to the “The ABC’s of
SXSW on NNM” March 28 through April 1 at www.newnormalmusic.com

 

 

Daily Lineup:

 

MON, 3/28 Acrylics, Alcoholic Faith Mission,
Apex Manor

TUE, 3/29 Cary Brothers,
Chris Bathgate, Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.

WED, 3/30 FM Belfast, Jeremy Messersmith, Small Sins

THU, 3/31 Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin, Tahiti
80, Taylor Locke and the Roughs

FRI, 4/1 The Lonely Forest, The
Moondoggies, Young Man

SAT, 4/2 & SUN, 4/3 Entire week of specials will air consecutively in alphabetical
order.

 

 

Daily Airtimes:

 

6 am PST / 9 am EST

10 am PST / 1 pm EST

2 pm PST / 5 pm EST

7 pm PST / 10 EST

 

 

Leave a Reply