Southern Culture On The Skids Returns

 

Not that they ever
actually went away… tour starts this week, new album drops next week.

 

By Fred Mills

 

Back at the Kudzu Ranch recording enclave, Tarheel twang
merchants Southern Culture On the Skids recently put the finishing touches on
their new album. It’s titled, fittingly, The
Kudzu Ranch
, and it’s issued on their own Kudzu label following a
three-album run with the venerable Yep Roc which concluded with 2007’s Countrypolitan Favorites.

 

“The Kudzu Ranch is collection of
10 originals and a couple covers,” said guitarist Rick Miller recently, “songs
about people, places and things – like good friends and crazy neighbors, dry
dirt and pompadoured flirts, busy roads and horny toads – all of them
motivatin’, salivatin’ and procreatin’ to their own crazy beat!”

 

It arrives next week, Sept. 7, via their official website, www.scots.com, and will eventually be
available at retail in early November. Folks who do pick it up directly from
the band will also nab some fun digital freebies, so you have been advised. Meanwhile,
the band heads out for a 3-week trek out west starting this week (the second
leg of their tour will commence in mid October), so BLURT is sitting down with
guitarist Rick Miller tomorrow afternoon for an in-depth yak about all things
SCOTS – including details on their remastered reissue of their 1991 sophomore
platter Too Much Pork For Just One Fork,
which is also due very soon. Watch the BLURT site for the fruits of that
conversation real soon.

 

Yours truly saw the band play about a month ago at the Bele Chere street
festival in Asheville, NC, and I can safely advise that, in the
parlance, “They still got it.” I was almost hit in the forehead with a chicken
wing in the process of formulating that assessment, in fact. So don’t miss ‘em.

 

Tour Dates:

 

Fri 9/3/2010     Los
Angeles, CA        The
Echo

Sat 9/4/2010    Ventura, CA   Ventura
Fairgrounds

Sun 9/5/2010   Lockwood, CA
          Hungry Flats Diner

Tue 9/7/2010   San Jose, CA
  The Blank Club

Wed 9/8/2010             Petaluma, CA
McNears Mystic Theatre

Thu 9/9/2010   Santa Cruz, CA
          Moe’s Alley

Fri 9/10/2010   Crystal Bay, NV         Crystal
Bay Club Crown Room

Sat 9/11/2010 San Francisco, CA      Great
American Music
Hall

Sun 9/12/2010             Bakersfield, CA          Fishlips

Wed 9/15/2010           Tucson, AZ
    Plush

Thu 9/16/2010             Phoenix, AZ
   Rhythm Room

Sat 9/18/2010 San Diego, CA
           Casbah

Fri 10/8/2010   Richmond, Va
            Plaza Duckpin Bowl

Sat 10/9/2010 Washington, DC
        9:30 Club

Sun 10/10/2010           Harrisburg, PA
           The Abbey Bar

Tue 10/12/2010           Marietta, OH
  The Adelphia (at the Galley)

Wed 10/13/2010         Pittsburgh, PA
           Diesel Club

Thu 10/14/2010           Philadelphia, PA
        World Cafe Live

Fri 10/15/2010             Brooklyn, NY             The Bell House

Sat 10/16/2010            Hoboken, NJ
  Maxwell’s

Fri 10/29/2010             Johnson City, TN
       Casbah

Sat 10/30/2010            Buford, GA
   Hell On Wheels Beer Festival

Sun 10/31/2010           Birmingham, AL
        Zydeco

Fri 11/26/2010             Kill
Devil Hills, NC    Port O’ Call

Sat 11/27/2010            Kill Devil Hills, NC
   Port O’ Call

 

 

 

Leave a Reply